Who will be the next new Grand Slam champion?


With Novak Djokovic’s imperious form, it seems odd to talk about a new Grand Slam champion. The Serb’s 6-1 7-5 7-6 win over Andy Murray in the Australian Open final marked his third consecutive grand slam title, while it was also his fifth major victory in seven attempts. Such has been Djokovic’s form, that even a loss to World No. 2 Andy Murray, or 17-time grand slam champion Roger Federer, would be considered a massive upset. However the likes of Djokovic and Murray, for many years hailed as the ‘next generation’ to attempt to replicate the success of Nadal and Federer, are no longer the exciting young stars on tour, and soon, Djokovic’s domination of the game will surely diminish. Since 2010, Andy Murray, Stan Wawrinka and Marin Cilic are the only men’s players to claim a maiden grand slam titles. The rest have all been won by the trio of Novak…

View original post 1,078 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s