Nadal, Djokovic headline Abu Dhabi field

The Grandstand

The field and draw for the annual Mubadala World Tennis Championship in Abu Dhabi was announced earlier this week. Not surprisingly, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic are the marquee attractions.

Nos. 1 and 2 on the ATP Tour will be joined by an impressive quartet consisting of David Ferrer, Andy Murray, Stanislas Wawrinka, and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga. Of the six, only Tsonga failed to qualify for the recently-completed World Tour Finals in London. Murray also missed the year-end championship due to his recovery from back surgery.

Nadal and Djokovic are on opposite sides of the bracket and have byes to the semifinals. Ferrer will face Wawrinka for the right to meet Nadal; Murray and Tsonga will square off with the winner to go up against Djokovic.

“This season has been one of my greatest achievements; coming back from injury to win two Grand Slams, regaining the world No. 1 spot, and…

View original post 69 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s